INDEPENDENT MEDIA · FACTUAL REPORTINGSOURCE-LED · INDEPENDENT COLLECTIVE
Cornell Alleged.Help the cause

THE RECORD. THE RESPONSE. THE RIGHT TO BE HEARD.

FEATURED CASE · CA-001Cornell · Chi Phi · 2024–2026
Choose another case
All seven records
Previous · Cornell defendant 01Next · Cornell defendant 03
Jonathan Newell in a 2023 NSU University School senior announcement, reproduced by CBS12 on October 3, 2026. Historical image; allegations in the civil case remain unproven in court.
@uschool.seniors23 via Instagram, reproduced and credited by CBS12/WPEC; original photographer not stated. · Photo source ↗ · Case / identity context ↗Research & source verification: Cornell Alleged research desk · cornellalleged.comPublished portrait · appearance does not establish involvement or wrongdoing
CORNELL DEFENDANT 02 · INDIVIDUAL RECORD

Johnathan Newell

Named civil defendant · Allegations

Cornell Chi Phi case · Alleged events in October 2024
Primary complaint: September 2026; subsequent updates separately dated
Added 01 October 2026 · Updated 05 October 2026

The public record

Name in complaint
Johnathan Newell
Connection alleged
Cornell student and Chi Phi member at the time, according to the complaint
Current status
Student / alumni status not independently verified
Public response
No individual response in reviewed sources
Source references
Complaint paragraphs 90–92; 151–170
Relevant published case information is linked here. Unsourced biographies, employers, unrelated personal information, and identification based only on a matching name are excluded.

Studies & prior schools

Listed field of study
Biological Sciences · intended program in a 2023 college announcement
Prior school
NSU University School, Davie, Florida · secondary school, graduating cohort of 2023
Incoming university transfer
No verified transfer-from-university record included
Record date / context
2023 senior announcement; named reporting published 3 October 2026

The announcement names Jonathan Newell and Cornell University. Named reporting connects that spelling to this defendant. The announced program does not verify later enrollment in that major. NSU University School is a secondary school; this record does not show attendance at or a transfer from Nova Southeastern University.

Prior secondary-school attendance is distinct from transferring between universities. These records do not establish a current academic status, and academic background does not establish any allegation.

Source: Cornell Alleged · cornellalleged.com

Original provenance is retained privately by the editorial desk. Request supporting records through Contact; disclosure is reviewed individually. Checked 5 October 2026.

Height and weight: no identity-verified original roster entry is included for this person. We do not estimate measurements from photographs.

CASE RECORD · REVIEWED 5 OCTOBER 2026

The criminal investigation has new leadership.

The governor appointed the Attorney General’s office as special prosecutor for the alleged October 2024 assault. Any prosecution or grand-jury presentation must be warranted by the investigation. This is a case-wide development; no individual charge, conviction or sanction is inferred for Johnathan Newell.

Read the appointment statement ↗

Appointment entry added 2 October; case-wide record reviewed 5 October 2026. The civil complaint and criminal process remain separate. Read the latest source-linked bulletin, including reporting that is not assigned to a named individual.

Reading this individual’s allegations

The complaint alleges sexual assault and that Newell encouraged other fraternity members to join. These claims are attributed to complaint paragraphs 90–92; 151–170. Read the Allegations and Response tabs together; the reported university outcome appears above and is separate from these civil allegations.

Profile update: 5 October 2026. Each source retains its own check and publication date; the latest appointment does not change allegations into findings.

New information and the latest source check

Cornell case reporting checked 6 October 2026. The latest updates distinguish reported records, competing accounts and proposed reforms.

Original reporting / records reviewed by publisher

Recorded calls and school-record responses — ABC News ↗

Source date: 5 Oct 2026 · Checked 6 Oct 2026

Aaron Katersky, Josh Margolin, Tonya Simpson and Peter Charalambous report on recorded calls and university records. Publication is not independent authentication by this archive.

Allegations

What the complaint alleges

The complaint alleges sexual assault and that Newell encouraged other fraternity members to join.

Complaint paragraphs 90–92; 151–170. These are the plaintiff’s claims, not findings adopted by this site.

Read the published complaint (graphic content) ↗

Profile update: 5 October 2026. Each source retains its own check and publication date; the latest appointment does not change allegations into findings.

Response

The right to respond

No individual reply is included in the reviewed sources. This absence is not an admission. The correction and reply workflow provides a place to propose a sourced update.

Profile update: 5 October 2026. Each source retains its own check and publication date; the latest appointment does not change allegations into findings.

Relationships

Relationships in the reviewed record

This profile is Cornell defendant 02. Numbers identify records; they do not rank conduct or severity.

Claim in civil complaintIndividual connection
Jonathan Newell in a 2023 NSU University School senior announcement, reproduced by CBS12 on October 3, 2026. Historical image; allegations in the civil case remain unproven in court.
@uschool.seniors23 via Instagram, reproduced and credited by CBS12/WPEC; original photographer not stated. · Photo source ↗ · Case / identity context ↗Research & source verification: Cornell Alleged research desk · cornellalleged.comPublished portrait · appearance does not establish involvement or wrongdoing
FROM

Johnathan Newell

TO

Cornell / Chi Phi Xi chapter

The complaint identifies this defendant as a Cornell student and Xi chapter member.

Complaint paragraphs 90–92 · Alleged connection in 2024

Source & dates

Cornell civil complaint ↗

Public pleading · Source date: September 2026 · Month known · Filing/publication period; exact filing date not confirmed here. Contains graphic allegations.

Added Updated
Open individual profile · Cornell defendant 02

Family and alleged influence

No verified, relevant family relationship is published for this individual in this edition. We do not infer protection from kinship or legal representation.

Read the family-claim verification notes

Profile update: 5 October 2026. Each source retains its own check and publication date; the latest appointment does not change allegations into findings.

Sources

Sources for this record

News reporting

Named university sanctions — The Cornell Daily Sun ↗

Source date: 5 Oct 2026 · Checked 5 Oct 2026

Reports disciplinary summaries obtained by The New York Times and includes Cornell’s and counsel’s responses. Administrative findings are distinct from criminal guilt. The underlying complete disciplinary files were not independently obtained by this archive.

News reporting

How Cornell punished seven men — NYT reporting, syndicated by The Irish Times ↗

Source date: 4 Oct 2026 · Checked 5 Oct 2026

NYT reporting by Sharon Otterman, Hurubie Meko and Debra Kamin. The syndicated page is dated October 4; the original NYT article is dated October 3. The report distinguishes sexual-assault findings from lesser university violations.

Studies & prior schools

Listed field of study
Biological Sciences · intended program in a 2023 college announcement
Prior school
NSU University School, Davie, Florida · secondary school, graduating cohort of 2023
Incoming university transfer
No verified transfer-from-university record included
Record date / context
2023 senior announcement; named reporting published 3 October 2026

The announcement names Jonathan Newell and Cornell University. Named reporting connects that spelling to this defendant. The announced program does not verify later enrollment in that major. NSU University School is a secondary school; this record does not show attendance at or a transfer from Nova Southeastern University.

Prior secondary-school attendance is distinct from transferring between universities. These records do not establish a current academic status, and academic background does not establish any allegation.

Source: Cornell Alleged · cornellalleged.com

Original provenance is retained privately by the editorial desk. Request supporting records through Contact; disclosure is reviewed individually. Checked 5 October 2026.

Height and weight: no identity-verified original roster entry is included for this person. We do not estimate measurements from photographs.

CASE RECORD · REVIEWED 5 OCTOBER 2026

The criminal investigation has new leadership.

The governor appointed the Attorney General’s office as special prosecutor for the alleged October 2024 assault. Any prosecution or grand-jury presentation must be warranted by the investigation. This is a case-wide development; no individual charge, conviction or sanction is inferred for Johnathan Newell.

Read the appointment statement ↗

Appointment entry added 2 October; case-wide record reviewed 5 October 2026. The civil complaint and criminal process remain separate. Read the latest source-linked bulletin, including reporting that is not assigned to a named individual.

Reading this individual’s allegations

The complaint alleges sexual assault and that Newell encouraged other fraternity members to join. These claims are attributed to complaint paragraphs 90–92; 151–170. Read the Allegations and Response tabs together; the reported university outcome appears above and is separate from these civil allegations.

Public pleading

Cornell civil complaint ↗

Source date: September 2026 · Month known · Checked 1 Oct 2026

Filing/publication period; exact filing date not confirmed here. Contains graphic allegations.

News reporting

Cereese Qusba · Cornell Daily Sun lawsuit reporting ↗

Source date: 18 Sept 2026 · Checked 1 Oct 2026

Exact publication date not confirmed in this edition; checked 1 October 2026.